Journal

Work Together to Build a Community of Common Future and Open Up New Prospects for East Asian Cooperation

Wang Yajun Director General of the Policy Planning Department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of China
The year 2015 has been an unusual year in the history of international relations, a year of intranquility for many parts of the world. As the international community commemorates the 70th anniversary of the victory of the World War against Fascism and the founding of the United Nations with the yearning for peace and development, the world is still overshadowed by sluggish economy, geopolitical turmoils and terrorist attacks.
 
On the other hand, the world is once again looking to the East, where regional cooperation in East Asia has made big strides as evidenced by the smooth progress of the Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank, the resumption of the China-Japan-ROK Summit, the convocation of APEC and EAS meetings, the establishment of the Lancang-Mekong River Cooperation Mechanism and the upgrading of the China-ASEAN FTA. From Boao at the beginning of the year to Kuala Lumpur toward the end of year, the progress of East Asian cooperation has been truly remarkable.
 
Interests are more closely integrated. Despite the increasing downward pressure on the world economy, the East Asian economy continues to lead the world this year, growing at a pace of about 6.5% and contributing to 40% of the world economic growth. This has been made possible by more integrated and upgraded industrial and value chains. China is ASEAN's largest trading partner and ASEAN is China's third biggest trading partner. Two-way trade in the first ten months of the year approximated US$380 billion. During the ASEAN+China leaders' meeting, the two sides signed the Protocol to upgrade China-ASEAN FTA. Building on the zero-tariff treatment to nearly 95% of goods provided in previous FTA agreement, the Protocol has included further steps to enhance trade and investment facilitation and open up the service sector, and identified cross-border e-commerce as a new area of cooperation. China and 16 ASEAN countries issued the RCEP Leaders' Joint Declaration, which signals substantive progress in RCEP negotiations and commits to complete negotiations by 2016. This modern, comprehensive, high-standard, mutually beneficial free trade agreement will put half of the world population, who enjoys one-third of the world economy, in one and same economic bloc. Regional integration will stay vigorous when it unleashes economic vitality and improves people's wellbeing. East Asian cooperation, which meets people's aspiration and expands common interests, is an unstoppable trend.
 
Cooperation is expanded into wider areas. With varying development levels, East Asian countries have much to offer each other. Regional cooperation has been expanded from exchange of goods to the entire industrial chain. On the ASEAN part, most countries need to promote industrialization, modernization and infrastructure development, which calls for funding and technological support. China, on its part, has become a huge consumer market and exporter of capital and production capacity thanks to decades of reform and development. It now plays a bigger role in strengthening regional connectivity and cooperation on production capacity and finance. Two-way investment between China and ASEAN has exceeded US$150 billion in accumulative terms. The Belt and Road initiative provides an important platform for cooperation between China and regional countries in all areas. As things stand now, ASEAN+3 cooperation covers 24 areas. About 230 projects have been successfully launched since 2014, ranging from traditional areas of economy and trade to finance, food, connectivity, energy, maritime affairs and people-to-people and cultural exchange.
 
Institutional drive is stronger. As the main avenue for East Asian cooperation, the ASEAN+3 cooperation mechanisms have grown to more than 60, including 17 ministerial meeting mechanisms. The institutional framework of East Asian cooperation has been improved in both quantity and quality terms. The ASEAN Summit has announced that the ASEAN Community underpinned by the Political-Security Community, Economic Community and Socio-Cultural Community will be established at the end of this year, representing a breakthrough in regional integration. The China-Japan-ROK Summit was resumed after a suspension of three years and reached important consensus on advancing trilateral cooperation. This is yet another significant event in East Asian cooperation. If relevant country could go along with the historical trend and properly handle the sensitive issues in its relations with neighboring countries, East Asian cooperation would have two wheels, namely ASEAN and China-Japan-ROK, supported by sound interaction between Northeast Asia and Southeast Asia, the two major groups of countries in the regional. On the sub-regional level, the first Foreign Ministers' Meeting on Lancang-Mekong River Cooperation between China and relevant countries was held in China. This will consolidate the institutional basis of East Asian cooperation.
 
The trend of the times keeps moving forward. The above-mentioned progress of East Asian cooperation, which meets the aspiration of people in the region for peace, development and cooperation, is a result of a natural process. And meanwhile, it has by no means come easily. As a matter of fact, it has been made possible by overcoming disturbances and focusing on cooperation. In recent period, some countries in and outside the region have upgraded military alliances, amended constitution for military build-up or stirred up troubles on the sea, adding factors of instability and uncertainty to the situation in East Asia. Media hype-up around these issues, be it intentional or otherwise, have created noises of various kinds that continue to disturb East Asian cooperation.
 
II
 
Looking back on the fruitful achievements in East Asian cooperation in the past year, people may wonder how various parties in East Asia have managed to go beyond disturbances and obstacles and stay committed to East Asian prosperity along the right track of East Asian cooperation. Success depends on following the right direction and path. Both the region's history and reality show that the path of East Asian cooperation must take root in Asian culture, serve Asian goals and meet Asian needs.
 
First, keep to the Asian direction of peaceful development. Next year will mark the 25th anniversary of China-ASEAN dialogue partnership. These 25 years have been a crucial period in East Asian cooperation and a golden period of remarkable economic and social progress in East Asia. One important experience is that East Asian countries have followed the post-Cold War trend, developed mutual trust and cooperation, and ushered in a new era of peaceful development. The experience of East Asia shows that the prosperity of a region and the success of regional cooperation are, to a large extent, determined by whether countries could keep to the fundamental principles of refraining from political instability, military confrontation, economic self-isolation and cultural exclusion.
 
Second, uphold the Asian model of inclusiveness. Pluralistic political systems, multi-speed development and cultural diversity are often seen as challenges in regional cooperation. These, however, are both the basis and characteristics of East Asian cooperation. Recognizing their differences and diversity, countries in the region have embraced an inclusive approach, instead of following one single set of values while rejecting everything else. Such an approach is a lighthouse that guides East Asian cooperation. Countries treat each other as equals, respect and tolerate each other, and accommodate each other's comfort level. They decide on affairs within the scope of their sovereignty by themselves and consult with each other on issues affecting all countries. Such an Asian way of engagement is along the same line as the Five Principles of Peaceful Coexistence initiated by China and other Asian countries and the widely recognized ASEAN code of conduct. It could also inspire countries with different social systems, development levels and religions as they cooperate with each other.
 
Third, stay committed to the Asian vision of win-win cooperation. A country could not choose its neighbors but can choose how to live with its neighbors. From ASEAN to ASEAN+3, RCEP negotiations (ASEAN+6) and East Asia Summit (ASEAN+8), the concentric circles are expanding in both scope and substance. Cooperation between ASEAN and China-Japan-ROK started with their joint efforts in addressing the Asian financial crisis. With their combined population, GDP and trade accounting for 57%, 88% and 50% of the Asia's total respectively, ASEAN+3 is undoubtedly the most mature cooperation architecture in East Asia. The parties of ASEAN+3 have grown into a community of shared interests and common future. They support each other like passengers in the same boat rather than introduce the "beggar thy neighbor" policy that undermines each other's efforts. They strive to build momentum for expanding cooperation while avoiding creating troubles that escalate tensions. They seek win-win cooperation while rejecting the "winner takes all" approach. And they work together to uphold common interests, overcome common challenges and undertake common responsibilities. This is the rule guiding East Asian cooperation. It is also the shared responsibility of all parties.
 
China has insisted practicing the above principles and ideas, and spared no efforts in promoting the sound development of East Asian cooperation. The ASEAN+China (10+1) cooperation has been leading the regional integration process. Over the past 10-plus years, China has been the first non-ASEAN country to accede to the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia, the first to establish a strategic partnership for peace and prosperity with ASEAN, the first to build the world's largest FTA of developing countries, and the first to complete negotiations on an upgraded FTA with ASEAN. All these have generated positive energy and magnetic effects for East Asian cooperation. In 2015, China and ASEAN held the first China-ASEAN Defence Ministers' Informal Meeting in China, the first China-ASEAN Ministerial Dialogue on Law Enforcement and Security Cooperation, and the Year of China-ASEAN Maritime Cooperation. Moreover, the two sides have accelerated efforts to advance the "Belt and Road" initiative and made progress in production capacity cooperation. And the Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank has been in operation. All these have played a constructive role in promoting regional cooperation.
 
III
 
The world economy is in the middle of deep adjustment. East Asian countries are at a crucial stage of development. According to the economist Stephen Roach, Asia's potential does not come from the development of a number of countries, but from the benefits of pan-Asia integration. As a Chinese saying goes, a boat sailing against the current must forge ahead or it will be pushed back. If China and other parties in East Asia could tap their potential and form synergy, it will add new impetus to their own development, regional cooperation and world peace and stability.
 
First, cultivate the awareness of a community of shared interests and a community of common future. Over 2,000 years ago, China and its Asian neighbors started trading goods and engaging in mutually beneficial cooperation both on land and on the sea along what was known as the Silk Road. We are as wise as our ancestors, if not more, and should carry forward and enrich this cultural legacy in keeping with the times. We need to expand converging interests and nurture new areas of cooperation to deliver tangible benefits to people in our countries and pass on our friendship to future generations. At the same time, we need to bear in mind the larger interest of peace and stability in the region, properly manage differences and disputes and take good care of the hard-won favorable situation in East Asia. Undergoing economic structural reform, China still contributes to nearly one third of global growth this year. As it implements the 13th Five-Year Plan, it will bring more and better opportunities to East Asian countries.
 
Second, strengthen the two forces of ASEAN centrality and major-country interactions. We need to continue to support ASEAN centrality in East Asian cooperation and increase assistance to underdeveloped ASEAN countries in order to narrow the development gap within ASEAN and support the building of the ASEAN Community. We should also advance the consultations on a treaty of good-neighborliness, friendship and cooperation between China and ASEAN countries. The important consensus reached at the China-Japan-ROK Summit should be implemented to steadily advance cooperation between the three countries and fire the engine of economic cooperation between the three major East Asian economies so as to take forward regional cooperation as a whole. We need to work hard to realize the goal of building an East Asia Economic Community by 2020 to make new contribution to the development of mankind.
 
Third, set in motion the two wheels of economic development and political security. We must make real efforts toward economic integration and focus on the goal of development that is of utmost importance to most countries in the region. At the same time, we need to enhance cooperation on political security and strive to build an open and stable architecture for security cooperation that is consistent with the reality on the ground and accepted by all countries in the region. We need to work hard to complete RCEP negotiations by 2016, implement the outcomes of the negotiations on upgrading China-ASEAN FTA, improve connectivity, maintain regional financial stability and promote regional economic integration. We should take the summit commemorating the 25th anniversary of China-ASEAN dialogue relationship as an opportunity to deepen political trust, uphold the Asian concept of common, comprehensive, cooperative and sustainable security, regularize the China-ASEAN Defence Ministers' Informal Meeting, and strengthen non-traditional security cooperation in transnational crimes, terrorism and disaster management. The issue of South China Sea is not an issue between China and ASEAN. Nor should it be placed at the center of  China's relations with relevant Southeast Asian countries. Relevant disputes must be peacefully resolved through negotiation and consultation.
 
Fourth, uphold the two principles of openness and inclusiveness and regionalism. Openness and inclusiveness means that all constructive initiatives that are conducive to peace and stability, common development, solidarity and cooperation of regional countries are to be welcomed. Regionalism means that efforts must be made to independently explore a path of regional cooperation in keeping with the reality of the region. The cause of peace and development in East Asia, based on the region’s historical traditions and realistic conditions, depends ultimately on the efforts of the people in the region. Having moved beyond the confrontation of regional blocs, East Asian cooperation has taken off on a good start. Any attempt to go against the historical trend is doomed to fail. Today, the world is turning its eyes to East Asia. We must stay committed to open regionalism, take destiny in our own hands, create our shared future with wisdom and confidence, and continue to write success stories of regional cooperation in the 21st century.       
 
 
Wang Yajun is Director General of the Policy Planning Department, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of China.

  • Address:71 Nanchizi Street, Beijing, 100006, China .
  • Phone:(86 10)65131830   /
  • Fax:(86 10)65131831
All rights reserved:Chinese People's Institute of Foreign Affairs 京ICP备05015594号 Technical Support:Oriental Netscape
You are thevisitor of the site

《外交》季刊

携手打造命运共同体 开创东亚合作新局面

王亚军 外交部政策规划司司长

 
2015年是国际关系史上不平凡的一年,也是全球许多地方不平静的一年。在国际社会纪念世界反法西斯战争胜利和联合国成立70周年,祈望和平与发展之际,世界依然笼罩着经济低迷、地缘动荡、恐怖袭击的阴云。
 
与此形成鲜明对照的是,年初以来,随着亚投行筹建顺利推进,中日韩领导人会议重启,亚太经合组织和东亚合作领导人会议成功召开,澜沧江—湄公河合作机制创立,中国—东盟自贸区升级,东亚区域合作取得重要进展,世界的目光再次投向东方。几乎不经意间,从年初的博鳌到岁尾的吉隆坡,东亚合作之车驶过一段精彩的旅程。
 
利益融合更紧密。在世界经济下行压力增大背景下,今年东亚经济以6.5%左右的增速继续领跑全球,对世界经济增长的贡献率达到40%,靠的是产业链价值链的不断融合升级。中国和东盟互为彼此最大和第三大贸易伙伴,今年前10个月双方贸易额接近3800亿美元。此次10+1领导人会议期间,双方正式签署了中国—东盟自贸区升级《议定书》,在原有自贸协议近95%的产品已经实现零关税基础上,进一步加强贸易和投资便利化,进一步开放服务市场,并把跨境电子商务纳入合作范畴。与此同时,中国和东盟等16个国家发表《区域全面经济伙伴关系》(RCEP)领导人联合声明,宣布RCEP谈判取得实质性进展,力争在2016年结束谈判。这个现代、全面、高质量、互惠的自贸协定,将使拥有三分之一经济总量的全球一半人口生活在同一个经济圈里。释放经济活力、增进人民福祉的区域一体化是有生命力的。东亚合作贴近民众诉求,做大共同利益蛋糕,是人心所向,势不可挡。
 
合作领域更立体。东亚各国发展水平各异,彼此优势互补,形成梯次跟进态势,地区合作层次也越来越从商品互通有无向全产业链合作拓展。从东盟看,大多数国家都有推进工业化、现代化、基础设施建设的需要,资金和技术支持需求迫切。从中方看,随着自身改革发展,中国日益成为巨大消费品市场和资本、产能输出国,在加强区域互联互通、产能合作、金融合作方面发挥着越来越大作用。目前,中国与东盟累计相互投资超过1500亿美元。“一带一路”为中国与地区各国开展全方位合作提供了重要平台。从区域合作进程看,10+3合作现已涵盖24个领域,2014年以来开展了约230个合作项目,既有传统经贸领域,也在金融、粮食、互联互通、能源、海上、人文等领域取得了积极成果。
 
机制动力更强劲。作为东亚合作主渠道,10+3合作机制已经扩展到60多个,包括17个部长级会议机制。东亚合作机制建设不仅体现为量的增加,还有质的提升。在10+3的“10”这一头,东盟峰会发表宣言,宣布今年底建成以政治安全共同体、经济共同体和社会文化共同体三大支柱为基础的东盟共同体,标志着地区一体化建设取得突破性进展。在“3”这一头,中日韩领导人会晤在中断3年后重启,就推进三国合作达成重要共识,这是东亚合作进程中的又一件大事。如果有关国家能够顺应历史潮流,妥善处理同邻国关系中的敏感问题,东亚合作将有望形成东盟和中日韩“双轮驱动”、东北亚和东南亚“两大板块”良性互动的态势。在次区域层面,中国和有关国家间的澜沧江—湄公河合作首次外长会在华召开,这将加固东亚合作机制的底盘。
 
时代潮流,浩浩荡荡。东亚合作取得上述进展,符合地区各国人民求和平、谋发展、盼合作的愿望,可谓瓜熟蒂落、水到渠成。同时,这些成果来之不易,是排除干扰、聚焦合作实现的。一段时期以来,有的域内外国家在东亚要么升级军事同盟,要么实行修宪强军,要么煽动海上争端,给东亚形势增添了不稳定、不确定因素。在一些媒体有意无意渲染下,各种噪音杂音不断干扰东亚合作主旋律。
 

 
盘点这一年来东亚合作的丰硕成果,人们不禁要问,是什么促使东亚各方不畏浮云遮望眼,致力于维护东亚地区的欣欣向荣,不偏离东亚合作的正确轨道?方向决定命运,路径决定成败。本地区的历史和现实表明,东亚合作所走的道路,源自亚洲理念,契合亚洲目标,符合亚洲需要。
 
一是坚持和平发展的亚洲方向。明年将迎来中国与东盟建立对话关系25周年。这25年不仅是东亚合作蓬勃发展的关键期,也是东亚地区经济社会长足进步的黄金期。最重要的一条经验就是东亚国家顺应冷战结束大趋势,打造互信合作大格局,开辟和平发展大时代。东亚的经验表明,政治上不折腾,军事上不对抗,经济上不封闭,文化上不排斥,这些朴素的道理坚持得好不好,很大程度上决定一个地区的兴衰沉浮,攸关区域合作的成败利钝。
 
二是坚持相互包容的亚洲模式。政治多元,发展多速,文明多样,往往被视作区域合作的难点,这既是开展东亚合作的起点,也是成就东亚合作的特点。从思想理念上承认差异性,立足多样性,主张包容性,而不是以一元化的价值判断先入为主,非黑即白,水火不容,这是引领东亚合作不断前行的一座灯塔。平等相待,相互尊重,相互包容,照顾各方舒适度,一国主权范围内的事自己做主,地区各国共同的事大家商量着办,这种处理彼此关系的亚洲方式,与中国等亚洲国家最早倡导的和平共处五项原则一脉相承,与广为认可的东盟行为准则内涵相通,对当今世界不同社会制度、不同发展水平、不同宗教信仰的国家开展合作提供了有益启迪。
 
三是坚持合作共赢的亚洲追求。邻居不可以选择,邻里相处之道可以选择。从东盟10国、东盟与中日韩(10+3)、RCEP谈判(10+6)到东亚峰会(10+8),东亚合作的几个同心圆不仅越画越大,还要越来越有内涵。东盟与中日韩合作发端于应对亚洲金融危机的共同努力,如今人口、GDP、贸易额分别占亚洲的57%、88%、50%,当之无愧是最成熟的东亚区域合作架构。可以说,10+3各方已经形成了一荣俱荣、一损俱损的利益共同体,越来越成为你中有我、我中有你的命运共同体。同舟共济而不是以邻为壑,相互补台而不是彼此拆台,锦上添花而不是火上浇油,合作共赢而不是赢者通吃,携手打造利益共同维护、困难共同克服、责任共同承担的命运共同体,这是东亚合作应循的规则,也是地区各方应有的担当。
 
中国始终践行上述原则理念,不遗余力地推动东亚合作健康发展,使得中国和东盟10+1合作一直走在地区一体化前列。近10余年来,中国作为域外大国率先加入《东南亚友好合作条约》,中国和东盟率先确立面向和平与繁荣的战略伙伴关系,率先建成世界上最大的发展中国家自贸区,如今又率先完成中国—东盟自贸区升级谈判,不断为东亚合作注入正能量,产生了引人瞩目的磁吸效应。2015年,中国和东盟首次在华举行中国—东盟防长非正式会晤,首次举行中国—东盟执法安全合作部长级对话,并举办了“中国—东盟海洋合作年”活动。此外,加快共建“一带一路”,开展产能合作取得进展,亚投行正式投入运营,这些都为推动区域合作发挥了积极建设性作用。
 

 
当前世界经济深度调整,东亚各国处于发展重要关头。经济学家史蒂芬·罗奇认为,亚洲的潜力并不在于几个特定国家各自发展简单相加,而在于泛亚地区整合所带来的好处。逆水行舟,不进则退。中国与东亚各方发掘潜力,形成合力,将为实现自身发展、推进区域合作、促进世界和平与稳定增添新的动力。
 
一是要树立利益共同体和命运共同体两种意识。早在两千多年前,中国同亚洲邻国就一起开辟了互通有无、互利互惠的陆海丝绸之路。今人不比古人缺少智慧,理应传承这笔精神遗产并赋予其时代内涵,不断拓展东亚各国利益汇合点和合作增长点,让各国民众得到更多触手可及的实惠,让世代友好的种子在人民心中扎下根。同时,着眼地区和平稳定大局,管控好矛盾分歧,呵护好东亚来之不易的大好形势。在推进经济结构改革的情况下,中国今年对全球增长贡献率仍然达到三分之一左右,随着“十三五”规划实施,必将为东亚各国带来更多更好的机遇。
 
二是要增强东盟主导和大国互动两大动力。继续支持东盟在东亚合作中发挥主导作用,通过加大对东盟欠发达国家援助,缩小东盟内部发展差距,对东盟共同体建设提供支持,并继续推动商签“中国—东盟国家睦邻友好合作条约”。落实中日韩三国领导人会议达成的重要共识,稳步推进中日韩合作,把东亚三大经济体合作这架引擎开动起来,一起带动区域合作往前走。努力实现2020年建成东亚经济共同体的愿望,为人类发展事业做出新贡献。
 
三是要实现经济发展和政治安全双轮驱动。既要把经济融合发展这个强项做实,牢牢扭住发展这个本地区绝大多数国家的第一要务,也要把政治安全合作这个短板做长,构建符合地区实际、各国普遍接受、具有开放稳定特征的安全合作架构。力争2016年完成RCEP谈判,落实中国—东盟自贸区升级谈判成果,提升互联互通水平,维护地区金融稳定,推进区域经济一体化。以举办中国—东盟对话关系25周年纪念峰会为契机深化双方政治互信,倡导共同、综合、合作、可持续的亚洲安全观,实现中国—东盟防长非正式会晤机制化,加强打击跨国犯罪、反恐、灾害管理等非传统安全合作。南海问题不是中国与东盟间的问题,也不是中国与东南亚有关国家关系主流,要坚持通过谈判协商和平解决有关争议。
 
四是要坚持开放包容和区域主义两大原则。所谓开放包容,就是对一切有利于地区各国和平稳定、有利于共同发展、有利于团结合作的建设性倡议,都持欢迎态度。所谓区域主义,就是要自主探索符合本地区实际的区域合作道路。东亚地区的和平与发展事业,根植于东亚的历史传统和现实条件,归根结底要依靠本地区人民来不断推进。东亚合作在超越集团对抗的平台上实现起飞,任何开历史倒车的行为都注定要失败。今天,在世界把关注和期待的目光投向东亚之际,我们要坚持开放的区域主义,把命运牢牢掌握在自己手中,以智慧和自信的手笔筹划未来,书写21世纪区域合作的成功故事。   
  • 地址:北京市东城区南池子大街71号
  • 电话:(86 10)65131830   /
  • 传真:(86 10)65131831
版权所有:中国人民外交学会 京ICP备14002180号-1 技术支持:东方网景
您是本网站第位访客